Skip navigation

Not careful enough, I ruined my favorite shirt because I forgot to check the label. Made me think about other things I had forgotten to check.

Handled with Care

I tattooed your call letters
On my pale blue forearm
Pierced my aging flesh
With your favorite fishing lure
Sliced my rough heel open on littered glass
While dredging the Hudson river
With the fine mesh stocking
You removed from my fleshy thigh
In careless haste
Then cast aside
Mutilations
Bled all over my favorite clothing
Ruined
Because, of course
I forgot to read the care instructions
I should have known not to wash the open wounds
Together
With the salty tears

Leave a Reply

