Skip navigation

Put simply, I took my profile off of the dating sites that I was on. Took myself off the shelf, so to speak. I found what I was looking for. I found myself.

Taken for a Ride

The old boarded up carousel in Asbury Park
Comes back to life
Visions of my father standing on horseback
Up and down
Leaning out and over
Over and over again
Pulling rings from the dispenser
One after another
Never a brass one
I, too, lean out and over
Up and down
Over and over again
Men dispensed
Pulling
One after another
Never a brass one
Too much time
Too much change expended
So we moved on instead
To the fun house
I, too, see myself in many mirrors now

Leave a Reply

