Skip navigation

I ran into these ladies this afternoon, when I was taking a break from my day and fishing the Battenkill river. They shared their stories, and invited me to join them another day.

The Salmon Sisters

I want to be one of the Salmon sisters
I want to float in a tube
Down the river all afternoon
Hand in hand
With my sisters of all old ages
After noon when our work is done
Which is different from your work
Dearie
Just housework
I want to be one of the Salmon sisters
I want a man who loves me
Enough to drop me
And my sisters
And our big black tubes
Into the river
And kiss me goodbye like on our first date
And drive bend after bend
After bend
To meet the sisters wet
And ferry us home
Wrapped in terrycloth
I want to be one of the Salmon sisters
Floating down the river together
For over fifty years

One Comment

  1. this is an excellent poem.
    Nicely done


Leave a Reply

